Discord is the biggest gaming communication platform on the market right now. However, there may come a time when you want to delete your Discord account. Maybe you are moving to a different platform or completely leaving the gaming space.

Whatever the reason is, we are going to take a look at how long it takes to delete a Discord Account and how you can go about deleting yours. Let’s jump in.

How Long Does It Take To Delete A Discord Account?

Deleting a Discord account will take 14 days after you initiate the deletion process. It takes Discord 14 days to completely remove any trace of your account from their systems. This is because Discord needs to take manual action on your account to remove all of your account history. For 14 days the account deletion will be in a pending state.

How To Delete A Discord Account?

Deleting your Discord account is as simple as clicking a button however there are some things you should know before starting the deletion process. If you are the owner of any Discord servers you will need to delete the servers or transfer ownership before you are able to delete your Discord account. We have detailed how to do this here.

If you are not the owner of any servers you can follow the steps below to delete your account:

  1. Open the Discord desktop app or the web app in your browser
  2. Click on the settings button beside your name
  1. In the settings menu click on My Account on the left-hand menu
  2. On the “My Account” page there is a “Delete Account” button
  3. Click on the Delete Account button and enter your password
  4. Click on the Delete Account button again
  5. You have now successfully initiated the deletion of your Discord account

It will now take 14 days to completely remove all traces of your account from Discord.

How To Delete A Discord Account On Mobile

You can also delete a Discord account from your mobile device. Follow the steps below to delete your account on mobile:

  1. Open the Discord App on your phone
  2. Click on your profile image in the bottom right corner
  3. Click on Account
  4. Scroll down to the bottom of this screen and you will see a Delete Account button
  5. Click this button and enter your password
  6. Click Delete Account again

You have now successfully deleted your Discord account from your mobile device.

How To Transfer Server Ownership Before Deleting Your Account

If you are deleting your Discord account but are the owner of a server you will need to transfer the server to someone else or delete the server before deleting your account.

If you want to transfer server ownership to someone else follow the steps below:

  1. Open the Discord Desktop or Web App and log into your account
  2. Navigate to the server you own
  3. Click on the name of your server –> Server Settings
  1. In server settings navigate to members on the left-hand side.
  1. Hover over the person’s name to who you want to transfer ownership and click on the 3 dots beside their name. Select “Transfer Ownership” from the menu.

The user who you have selected will now be the owner of the server. You will be able to successfully delete your account. If you have multiple servers, you will need to do this on all of them.

How To Delete A Server Before Deleting Your Account

If you just want to get rid of a server and not transfer ownership to someone else you can do it by following the steps below:

  1. Open the Discord Desktop or Web App on your computer
  2. Navigate to the server you want to delete
  3. Click on the name of your server –> Server Settings
  4. In the menu on the left-hand side you will see a “Delete Server” button at the bottom
  5. Click the delete server button. It will ask you to type the name of the server to confirm you want to delete it
  6. Once you have typed the server name click on the delete button and your server will be deleted

You have now successfully deleted your Discord server and can continue with deleting your account.

Can I Recover A Deleted Discord Account?

Once a Discord account has been deleted it cannot be recovered. Do not delete your account if you expect to need it in the future. Discord does have a feature that allows you to Disable your account rather than delete it.

If you think you may want to come back to Discord in the future, we would recommend disabling your account rather than deleting it.

If you are in the 14 day waiting period after deletion you can restore your account. When you try to log in you will be informed that your account is pending deletion. You will have an option to restore your account. Click the restore button to access your account again.

How To Delete A Deceased Persons Discord Account

If a loved one has passed away you may want to delete their Discord account. You can do this by sending a request to the Discord support team. Follow the steps below:

  1. Go to the Discord Support link
  2. Under “What can we help you with?” select “Help & Support”
  3. Under “Type of Question” select “Account Deletion”
  4. Fill in the users email address
  5. In the description box type “User is Deceased”
  6. Click on submit

Discord will then be able to help you with deleting the account of the user.

Wrapping Up

You should now have successfully deleted your Discord account and transferred/deleted any servers that you used to own. Before deleting your account ensure that you are ready to lose your Discord account and lose all of your data for good.

Read More From Get On Stream:

Author

James is a marketer by day and gamer by night. He loves sharing his Marketing background in the world of streaming. When he's not working on campaigns he's likely to be spotted in Verdansk.