We’ve all had a situation when online chatting goes wrong and someone ends up blocking someone else. The same thing can be said for Discord and its chat system. There are a few things that happen when someone blocks you on Discord, and we’re here to shed some light on all of the things that might interest you when it comes to this topic.
How To Tell If Someone Blocked You On Discord
The easiest way to check if someone has blocked you is to send a message in the chat. If the user in question has blocked you and you send a message, one of the Discord bots will send you a notification about the situation:
If you see this, this means that the person has blocked you and you cannot contact them until they have unblocked you. If there is no message like this and your messages appear normal, then you’ve not been blocked.
This is not the only way of checking if someone has blocked you, however. You can also check by attempting to add the person as a friend, or reacting to a message they sent in a chat on your server. If they have you blocked, a message similar to the one above will appear.
How To Block Someone On Discord
If you find yourself the victim of harassment, you can easily cease all communication with that person by blocking them. To do that, you’re going to want to follow these steps:
- Click on the name of the user you want to block in your DMs
- Click on the three dots next to Send Friend Request
- Click on Block
And that’s it! The user will not be able to contact you again until you unblock them. The whole process is quite simple and it takes no time at all.
Can Blocked Users Still See Your Messages?
The only thing blocking someone on Discord does is prevent them from sending you direct messages and mentioning you. However, if you were to send messages to a blocked user, they would still see all of them, without being able to reply.
How To Block Messages From People Who Are Not Your Friends
To keep yourself safe when you join new servers, it is a smart idea to turn off messages from people who are not already on your friend list. Here’s how to do that.
- Click on the cog in the bottom-left corner of Discord
- Click on Privacy and Safety
- Make sure that the Allow direct messages from server members option is turned off
After you complete these steps, users from your new servers will not be able to contact you, keeping you safe from potential hackers and any other negative things.
That was all of the information you could have wanted regarding Discord blocks and their relevant message settings. We sincerely hope that you have learned something new today and that you’ll use this knowledge in the future!